Friday, November 2, 2018
The winners of the Free Press Awards 2018 are Rana Ayyub, Kemi Busari, Mirjam van Biemen and Mijke van Wijk.

Most Resilient Journalist

Indian journalist Rana Ayyub has won this year's Most Resilient Journalist Award. Each year, this award honours a journalist who has demonstrated extraordinary strength of character, courage and perseverance in reporting the news.

Ayyub investigated the extrajudicial killings of Muslim youth and this sent the first serving home minister of India behind bars. She has continued reporting despite being harassed both online and offline and receiving death threats.

The other nominees for this award were Abdulmonam Eassa, from Syria, and Mohamed Ibrahim Nur, from Somalia. 

Newcomer of the Year - Hans Verploeg Award

Nigerian journalist Kemi Busari has won the Newcomer of the Year - Hans Verploeg Award. This award recognises a new and talented journalist who has put in a strong performance when it comes to reporting the news.

Busari (29) was lauded for his undercover investigations which had generated real impact. One of his reports in 2017 exposed the myriads of corruption perpetrated by the Nigerian Immigration Service’s officers.

The other nominees were Chinwe Agbeze and Amos Fofung Nkunchoh.

Best Report

Mirjam van Biemen and Mijke van Wijk have won the Best Report Award for their radio documentary 'Waakhond van het woud' ('Watchdog of the woods').

This award goes to the best foreign documentary made with support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery Fund for journalists. The fund enables journalists to make reports on people and the environment in developing countries and conflict areas.

The other nominees were Ralf Bodelier and Mirjam Vossen for their article 'Het is fout maar dit is hoe wij overleven' (It's wrong. But it's how we survive') and Coen van de Ven and Kasper Goethals for 'Een eigen weg voor het Oosten' ('Through Europe's fly-over states: Going south in the East').

About the Free Press Awards

With the Free Press Awards, we want to honour journalists who risk everything to bring us the news. Media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. Journalists who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information.

The award ceremony takes place at Free Press Live, our annual event to honour the international day to end impunity for crimes against journalists on November 2.