Organisation structure

The management of Free Press Unlimited is handled by Leon Willems and Ruth Kronenburg. They jointly direct the activities of a team of 40 dedicated professionals. Its projects are prepared and executed by programme coordinators, who work in a variety of thematic and geographic area's.

Leon Willems (1961) was appointed Director of Free Press Unlimited in May 2011. Before this, he served as Director of Press Now. In 2008, Willems initiated the Radio Darfur project on behalf of Press Now, in partnership with journalists, NGO's and peace groups. Since 1 December 2008, Radio Darfur has been realising daily, non-partisan news broadcasts for the people of Darfur. Before joining Press Now, Willems worked for the United Nations, setting up independent radio stations in Southern Sudan. He also served in a variety of positions at the Dutch public broadcaster IKON. Besides working as Director of Free Press Unlimited, Leon Willems is also a member of the steering committee for the Global Forum for Media Development and a board member of Ghetto Radio, a station set up to allow the young residents of the slums of Nairobi, Kenya, to express themselves with dignity.

Ruth Kronenburg (1964) has served as Director of Operations at Free Press Unlimited since May 2011. Before joining Free Press Unlimited, she held various management positions in the media sector for more than 17 years. Among other things, Kronenburg worked as an interim manager for Endemol and Stokvis/625 TV Producties. In 2009, she moved to Radio Zamaneh, the independent Irani radio station based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. As Radio Zamaneh’s interim director, she oversaw an organisation-wide professionalisation process, which was necessitated by the success of the radio station and subsequently allowed for Zamaneh’s further growth. In January, Kronenburg joined Leon Willems as interim director of Press Now and Free Voice, working side by side with Willems to guide these parties’ merger to form Free Press Unlimited.


Supervisory board:

Joop Daalmeijer (president Raad van Cultuur)
Teus Eenkhoorn (director Reinwardt Academie)
Huub Elzerman (a.o. voorzitter NVJ)
Marietje Schaake (member European Parliament, D66)
Corine de Vries (journalist de Volkskrant)
Ronald Gijsbertsen (director SOMO)


Organisation chart