Awards 2019

Most Resilient Journalist Award

The Free Press Award in the category Most Resilient Journalist is presented to a journalist who has demonstrated extraordinary strength of character, courage and perseverance in reporting the news.

Nominees of the Most Resilient Journalist have often faced imprisonment, violence and censorship for doing their job. They have shown a strong commitment to press freedom and independent information, and are generally highly-regarded journalists who are willing to risk their life or their freedom in order to keep the public informed.

They produce their work in the face of government oppression, political pressure, intimidation, physical violence and other obstacles. The Most Resilient Journalist Award honours journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. In recognition of his or her achievements, the winner of the Most Resilient Journalist Award will receive a cash prize.

Previous winners of the Most Resilient Journalist Award are the late Mantas Kvedaravičius (2022), Rozina Islam from Bangladesh (2021), and Maria Ressa from the Philippines (2020).

Free Press Awards 2023

The nominations for the Free Press Awards of 2023 have closed on 15 August 2023. The nominees and winners will be announced in September and October 2023.

Criteria Free Press Awards

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. Please note the following when nominating:

  • You can not nominate yourself
  • When you nominate someone, make sure this person is aware and gives permission
  • Make sure you have sufficient examples of work to upload with the nomination

The winner in the category 'Most Resilient Journalist' will receive a cash prize.

Image credit
Joris Bulckens

Share this page: