You can now nominate a journalist for the Free Press Awards 2024!

Most Resilient Journalist
Image credit
Aysel Avesta received the Most Resilient Journalist Award 2023 on behalf of Dicle Müftüoğlu, who was in prison at that time.

Nominations for the Free Press Awards 2024 have officially opened! This year we will once again honour a Most Resilient Journalist and Newcomer of the Year with a Free Press Award.

With the Free Press Awards Free Press Unlimited recognises journalists and media professionals who have shown a strong commitment to the cause of press freedom and the provision of independent information. We will honour journalists and media professionals who continue to do their work, no matter the circumstances.

You can now nominate a journalist who you think deserves to be awarded. The Newcomer of the Year is awarded with a scholarship, and the Most Resilient Journalist receives a cash prize. The deadline for nominations is 12 August 2024.

Nominate here

Most Resilient Journalist

The Free Press Award in the category Most Resilient Journalist is presented to a journalist who has demonstrated extraordinary strength of character, courage and perseverance in reporting the news.

Previous winners of the Most Resilient Journalist Award are Dicle Müftüoğlu from Turkey (2023), the late Mantas Kvedaravičius from Lithuania (2022), Rozina Islam from Bangladesh (2021), and Maria Ressa from the Philippines (2020). Read more about the Most Resilient Journalist Award here.

Newcomer of the Year-Hans Verploeg Award

The category Newcomer of the Year recognises talented new journalists who have shown strong performance in terms of reporting the news. The nominees all demonstrate exceptional commitment to press freedom and independent coverage and use innovative methods to disseminate this information.

Previous winners of the Newcomer of the Year-Hans Verploeg Award were Holiancar Contreras from Venezuela (2023), Antonia Cundy from Great-Britain (2022), Bhat Burhan from India (2021) and Bianca Albu from Romania (2020). Read more about the Newcomer of the Year-Hans Verploeg Award here.

Criteria Free Press Awards

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. Please note the following when nominating:

  • You can not nominate yourself;
  • When you nominate someone, make sure this person is aware and gives permission;
  • Make sure you have sufficient examples of work to upload with the nomination, preferably a minimum of three pieces;
  • To be eligible for the category of Newcomer of the Year, the nominee should be active as a journalist for a maximum of three years.

Deadline for nominations is 12 August 2024!

Nominate here 

Share this page:

Free Press Awards