Awards 2019

Newcomer of the Year - Hans Verploeg Award

The category Newcomer of the Year in Journalism recognises talented new journalists who have shown strong performance in terms of reporting the news. The nominees all demonstrate exceptional commitment to press freedom and independent coverage and use innovative methods to disseminate this information.

Nominees in the category Newcomer of the Year show extraordinary dedication to journalism as a means to hold those in power accountable and to serve as a watchdog in the public interest. They manage to share stories that would otherwise be left untold. In recognition of his or her achievements, the winner of the Newcomer of the Year - Hans Verploeg Award will receive a media scholarship.

Previous winners of the Newcomer of the Year award were Bhat Burhan from India and Maryna Ansiforova from Ukraine. 

Free Press Awards 2022

The nominations for the Free Press Awards of 2022 open 17 June 2022. Keep an eye on our website and social media to stay informed on the nominating procedure. The deadline for nominating is 1 August 2022.

Criteria Free Press Awards

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. Please note the following when nominating:

  • You can not nominate yourself
  • When you nominate someone, make sure this person is aware and gives permission
  • Make sure you have sufficient examples of work to upload with the nomination, preferably a minimum of three pieces
  • To be eligible for the category of Newcomer of the Year, the nominee should be active as a journalist for a maximum of three years.

The winner in the category 'Newcomer of the Year' will receive a media scholarship. 

Nominate here

Photo: Joris Bulckens

Share this page: