Free Press Awards

The Free Press Awards recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information. We will honour journalists and media professionals who continue no matter what. 

Free Press Unlimited wants to honor journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. The Free Press Awards will recognise exceptional work in the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

The nominations for this year are closed.

Criteria Free Press Awards

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. Please note the following when nominating:

  • You can not nominate yourself;
  • When you nominate someone, make sure this person is aware and gives permission;
  • Make sure you have sufficient examples of work to upload with the nomination, preferably a minimum of three pieces;
  • To be eligible for the category of Newcomer of the Year, the nominee should be active as a journalist for a maximum of three years.

The winner in the category 'Newcomer of the Year' will receive a media scholarship by choice. The winner in the category 'Most Resilient Journalist' will receive a cash prize. Read more about the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

Free Press Awards 2022

The nominations for the Free Press Awards of 2022 open 17 June 2022. Keep an eye on our website and social media to stay informed on the nominating procedure. The deadline for nominating is 1 August 2022.


Photo in header: Romy van den Boogaart

Share this page: